This Terrible True Thing
This Terrible True Thing

This Terrible True Thing



Sale price $19.99
Quantity:
window.theme = window.theme || {}; window.theme.preorder_products_on_page = window.theme.preorder_products_on_page || []; window.theme.preorder_products_on_page.push(parseInt("44237072072842"));

Buy from other retailers

A Philadelphia Inquirer Pick of 11 Best Books of the Month

A Queer Bookdom Blog Pick of the Month

A Reads Rainbow Pick of New Releases for Fall

A Publishers Weekly Pick for Fall

A BookRiot Pick of Recent YA Books Set in the 1990s

In this heartbreaking multimedia debut—filled with drawings, poems, and journal entries—author Jenny Laden draws on her own experience to create a story of grief and transcendence, perfect for fans of Francesca Zappia and Jennifer Niven.

Danielle Silver is a Philadelphia high school senior at the dawn of the ’90s. Ever since her parents split up, she has known her father was gay, but she never expected to be hit with the bombshell that he is HIV positive. As he sickens, and AIDS starts to claim the lives of his friends, Danielle searches for silver linings while trying to balance paralyzing fear, grief, her social life, and schoolwork—capturing all the feelings as adolescence and some hard facts collide.