Vicarious

Rhett C. Bruno

03-01-22

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Science Fiction

As low as $11.04 Regular Price $16.99
Save

Ships within 1-2 business days (In Stock)

Ships within 1-2 business days when available

Free shipping ($35 or more)

03-01-22

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Science Fiction

Description

“Haunting and unique; the best of what science fiction can and should be.” Katherine McNamara, actress

Ready Player One meets The Truman Show with a dash of The 100 in this science fiction story about the power of human connection, from USA Today bestselling and Nebula Award–nominated author Rhett C. Bruno. It’s perfect for fans of Hugh Howey, Kim Stanley Robinson, and Kass Morgan.

The real world is only where you breathe …

In High Earth, entertainment is everything. Virtual worlds, hyper-realistic simulations, endless streamable content—there’s something for everybody. You don’t ever have to leave your home.

For Asher Reinhart, nothing compares to Ignis: Live, a reality show that pushes human beings to their very extremes. As a volunteer director, he closely monitors the lives of those living on an Interstellar Ark who falsely believe they’re the last of humanity out searching for a new Earth.

Mission is the show’s brightest young star. Born in hiding, her intelligence and near-perfect genetics have allowed her to rise up the ranks faster than any before her. But now that it’s her turn to provide for the Ark, everything changes …

With Mission’s life placed in danger in order to boost ratings, Asher must choose between protecting the show he’s dedicated his life to, or the woman who has been the focus of his attention since the day he was born.

Vicarious (adjective): Experienced in the imagination through the feelings or actions of another person.

Praise

“Haunting and unique; the best of what science fiction can and should be.” Katherine McNamara, actress

“A riveting take on man’s inhumanity to man. Vicarious is 2001: A Space Odyssey meets The Truman Show.” Scott Sigler, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Earthcore

“A truly unique sci-fi experience…Mission’s story is both heartbreaking and triumphant, and the growth Asher shows from start to finish blew me away.” Nicholas Sansbury Smith, New York Times bestselling author of Hell Divers

“A deep and a stunningly emotive story wrapped in a truly unique setting.” Jasper T. Scott, USA Today bestselling author of Dark Space

“This perceptive take on the reality-TV-in-the-future premise deserves boffo ratings.” Kirkus Reviews

Details
More Information
Release Date March 1, 2022
Language English
Genre Fiction, General, Science Fiction
Author Bio
Rhett C. Bruno

Rhett C. Bruno is a USA Today, Washington Press, and #1 Audible bestselling author, and has been nominated for a Nebula Award. He is the author of the Children of Titan Series, The Buried Goddess Saga, The Circuit Trilogy, The Roach, and the Audible Original The Luna Missile Crisis, among others. His story, Interview for the End of the World, was nominated for a 2019 Nebula Award. Rhett left his day job in 2018 and used his experience as both a traditionally and selfpublished author to found Aethon Books. Rhett also founded Sci-Fi & Fantasy Bridge, a newsletter service which holds a list of thirty thousand dedicated Sci-fi & Fantasy readers.

Overview

Ready Player One meets The Truman Show with a dash of The 100 in this science fiction story about the power of human connection, from USA Today bestselling and Nebula Award–nominated author Rhett C. Bruno. It’s perfect for fans of Hugh Howey, Kim Stanley Robinson, and Kass Morgan.

The real world is only where you breathe …

In High Earth, entertainment is everything. Virtual worlds, hyper-realistic simulations, endless streamable content—there’s something for everybody. You don’t ever have to leave your home.

For Asher Reinhart, nothing compares to Ignis: Live, a reality show that pushes human beings to their very extremes. As a volunteer director, he closely monitors the lives of those living on an Interstellar Ark who falsely believe they’re the last of humanity out searching for a new Earth.

Mission is the show’s brightest young star. Born in hiding, her intelligence and near-perfect genetics have allowed her to rise up the ranks faster than any before her. But now that it’s her turn to provide for the Ark, everything changes …

With Mission’s life placed in danger in order to boost ratings, Asher must choose between protecting the show he’s dedicated his life to, or the woman who has been the focus of his attention since the day he was born.

Vicarious (adjective): Experienced in the imagination through the feelings or actions of another person.