The Tinderbox

Soldier of Indira

By Lou Diamond Phillips

Illustrated by Yvonne Phillips

As low as $11.04 Regular Price $16.99

Release

08-03-21

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Science Fiction

Release

08-03-21

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Science Fiction

Overview

Two worlds at war will bring them together … or tear them apart …

Everson didn’t want to be a soldier. His parents forced him to serve, as all good Indiran men should. The only problem? His first battle against their mortal enemies goes horribly wrong and he winds up stranded on the enemy planet.

Now, Everson has to survive in this strange new land where everyone is out to get him. Not to mention, the planet Mano is covered in unforgiving desert. And he’s the target of traitors who want to use him in a dastardly plot to overthrow their mad king, Xander the Firm, by having him retrieve a piece of mysterious and powerful ancient technology known as the Tinderbox.

But everything changes during a chance encounter with the king’s daughter, Allegra. Despite her station, she’s in as grave of danger from her own people as Everson is. And though their peoples have been at odds for centuries, an unlikely spark forms between them.

As their worlds come crashing down around them, their forbidden love might be the only chance to end this war forever. Or, it might just be the doom of everyone …

Imagine the intrigue of Game of Thrones mixed with the star-crossed romance of Romeo and Juliet … but in space! Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen’s famous fairy tale of the same name, Soldier of Indira is perfect for fans of Dune, Aurora Rising, and Stardust.

Editorial Reviews

“An amazingly prescient tale from one of the finest storytellers I know, The Tinder Box is an otherworldly adventure combining a much-loved fable with the sweep and grandeur of a startling, science-fiction epic.” Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of the Walt Longmire Mysteries

“A wonderful mashup of Stars Wars, Game of Thrones, and one of Hans Christian Andersen’s most complex fairy tales. An added bonus? Yvonne Phillips’s haunting, beautiful illustrations.” Chris Bohjalian, New York Times bestselling author of The Flight Attendant

“A breathtaking, prodigious, and astonishing journey worth sharing.” Nerds and Beyond

“An entertaining whirlwind of a story.” Fresh Fiction

Lou Diamond Phillips

Author Biography

Lou Diamond Phillips is an accomplished actor with numerous film, television, and theater credits. Among his films are La Bamba, Young Guns, and Young Guns II.