Gabriel García Márquez

Gabriel García Márquez
  • One of the twentieth century’s enduring works, One Hundred Years of Solitude is a widely beloved and acclaimed novel known throughout the world and the ultimate achievement in a Nobel Prize–winning career.

    The novel tells the story of the rise and fall of the mythical town of Macondo through the history of the Buendía family. Rich and brilliant, it is a chronicle of life, death, and the tragicomedy of humankind. In the beautiful, ridiculous, and tawdry story of the Buendía family, one sees all of humanity, just as in the history, myths, growth, and decay of Macondo, one sees all of Latin America.

    Love and lust, war and revolution, riches and poverty, youth and senility, the variety of life, the endlessness of death, the search for peace and truth—these universal themes dominate the novel. Alternately reverential and comical, One Hundred Years of Solitude weaves the political, personal, and spiritual to bring a new consciousness to storytelling. Translated into dozens of languages, this stunning work is no less than an account of the history of the human race.

  • Leaf Storm is the first book García Márquez wrote. Already we see the colorful historical background that forms the basis for his later work. It covers the history of Macondo from 1903 to 1928, ending the year the author was born.

    A man dies and three people reflect on the story of Macondo’s boom and decline as shown in the family fortunes over three generations. As they attend the wake, the members of the family recall the tragedy that involves them all. Grim, ironic, powerful, Leaf Storm creates a mysterious and ominous atmosphere that lingers on in the reader’s mind.

  • In Evil Hour is the thrilling story about the smears, defamations, infidelities, and torrential rains that afflict a small Colombian town, and the sacrifice of a boy that brings torment and chaos to an end, from the masterful Gabriel García Márquez, author of One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera.

    One morning, slanderous posters start appearing all over the town, revealing family secrets and maligning individuals. Ghosts of the past reappear, along with old feuds and infidelities. Torrential rains then flood the town and chaos is everywhere. Neighbors suspect each other, yet no one knows who is responsible. Finally, a boy is made the scapegoat and tragedy ensues.

    In Evil Hour contains vivid characters who reflect the humor and pathos of everyday life. This brooding novel clearly points the way to the flowering of García Márquez’s genius in his later One Hundred Years of Solitude.

  • One of Gabriel García Márquez’s most intricate and ambitious works, The Autumn of the Patriarch is a brilliant tale of a Caribbean tyrant and the corruption of power.

    From charity to deceit, benevolence to violence, fear of God to extreme cruelty, the dictator of The Autumn of the Patriarch embodies the best and the worst of human nature. Gabriel García Márquez, the renowned master of magical realism, vividly portrays the dying tyrant caught in the prison of his own dictatorship. Employing an innovative, dreamlike style, and overflowing with symbolic descriptions, the novel transports the listener to a world that is at once fanciful and real.

  • An enchanting new collection of twenty-nine short stories from Nobel Prize–winning author Gabriel García Márquez, a master storyteller who “forces upon us at every page the wonder and extravagance of life” (New York Review of Books)

    Spanning more than two decades, this collection combines humor, history, and mysticism to tell stories about the frightfully poor and outrageously rich, lost opportunities and present joys, memories, illusions, death, and other themes that resound throughout García Márquez’s fiction.

    Stories include:

    “The Third Resignation”
    “Eva Is Inside Her Cat”
    “Tubal-Cain Forges a Star”
    “The Other Side of Death”
    “Dialogue with the Mirror”
    “Bitterness for Three Sleepwalkers”
    “How Nathanael Makes a Visit”
    “Eyes of a Blue Dog”
    “The Woman Who Came at Six O’clock”
    “The Night of the Curlews”
    “Someone Has Been Disarranging These Roses”
    “Nabo: The Black Man Who Made the Angels Wait”
    “A Man Arrives in the Rain”
    “Monologue of Isabel Watching It Rain in Macondo”
    “Tuesday Siesta”
    “One of These Days”
    “There Are No Thieves in This Town”
    “Balthazar’s Marvelous Afternoon”
    “Montiel’s Widow”
    “One Day after Saturday”
    “Artificial Roses”
    “Big Mama’s Funeral”
    “A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings”
    “The Sea of Lost Time”
    “The Handsomest Drowned Man in the World”
    “Death Constant beyond Love”
    “The Last Voyage of the Ghost Ship”
    “Blacamán the Good, Vendor of Miracles”
    “The Incredible and Sad Tale of Innocent Eréndira and Her Heartless Grandmother

  • Set in the decaying Colombian town of Macondo, the Colonel is scraping together the money for food and medicine. It is the Colonel’s rooster that gives him hope for a better future as it has become a symbol of defiance in the face of despair.