Nethergeist

Nick Stevenson

12-12-23

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

As low as $9.99

Ships within 1-2 business days (In Stock)

Ships within 1-2 business days when available

Free shipping ($35 or more). Details

12-12-23

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

Description

“Devastatingly dystopian and hugely imaginative.” Cameron Johnston, author of The Maleficent Seven

For thousands of years, the Emperor Goat, a necromancer so powerful he has declared himself God, has had an iron grip on the universe, causing most worlds to fall into disrepair.

In a paranoid city of renegades, the last bastion of humanity holds out against his might.

Ayilia, its Regent-Elect, is friendless, single, the ‘wrong’ sex, the ‘wrong’ heritage, and apparently cursed. While attempting to rout a coup, she is selected by outside forces to search for the impending birth site of Al Kimiya, a mage who is said to be the only match for the Emperor. To save herself and her people, she must ally with heretic magi, necromantic freedom fighters, the human-hating, reptilian Krayal, and her sworn foe, the cowardly, lifeless warlord Vespasian.

A complex literary fantasy, Nethergeist is a story where the conflict is as much about the characters’ inner turmoil as the outward struggle against the maniacal emperor. Featuring intense battles, snappy dialogue, and a world on the edge of ruin, Nethergeist is a fantasy in the vein of Malazan Book of the Fallen and The First Law.

Praise

“Devastatingly dystopian and hugely imaginative.” Cameron Johnston, author of The Maleficent Seven

“With stunning battle scenes and crackling dialogue, Nethergeist is a creepy and creative addition to any gothic apocalyptic SF lover’s to-be-read pile. A complex and powerful debut novel.” Booklist

Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Dec 11, 2023
Release Date December 12, 2023
Number in Series 1
Series Display String Nethergeist
Release Date Machine 1702339200
Imprint Rising Action Publishing
Provider Rising Action Publishing
Categories Literature & Fiction, Genre Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, LGBTQ+, Literary Fiction, Fantasy
Author Bio
Nick Stevenson

After graduating from university in history, social science, and politics, Nick Stevenson began work as a magazine editor. After putting in his time at a desk, adventure called, and Nick became an extensive traveller. After years spent in Southeast Asia, China, Australia, New Zealand, and Australia, Nick return to the UK and took up a career as an editor and writer of various e-zines. Fifteen years ago, Nick left the online world to run an English Language School and focus on crafting the Nethergeist series of books.

Overview

For thousands of years, the Emperor Goat, a necromancer so powerful he has declared himself God, has had an iron grip on the universe, causing most worlds to fall into disrepair.

In a paranoid city of renegades, the last bastion of humanity holds out against his might.

Ayilia, its Regent-Elect, is friendless, single, the ‘wrong’ sex, the ‘wrong’ heritage, and apparently cursed. While attempting to rout a coup, she is selected by outside forces to search for the impending birth site of Al Kimiya, a mage who is said to be the only match for the Emperor. To save herself and her people, she must ally with heretic magi, necromantic freedom fighters, the human-hating, reptilian Krayal, and her sworn foe, the cowardly, lifeless warlord Vespasian.

A complex literary fantasy, Nethergeist is a story where the conflict is as much about the characters’ inner turmoil as the outward struggle against the maniacal emperor. Featuring intense battles, snappy dialogue, and a world on the edge of ruin, Nethergeist is a fantasy in the vein of Malazan Book of the Fallen and The First Law.