Vicarious

By Rhett C. Bruno

As low as $13.59 Regular Price $16.99

Ready Player One meets The Truman Show with a dash of The 100 in this science fiction story about the power of human connection, from USA Today bestselling and Nebula Award–nominated author Rhett C. Bruno. It’s perfect for fans of Hugh Howey, Kim Stanley Robinson, and Kass Morgan.The real world is only where you breathe …In High Earth, entertainment is everything. Virtual worlds, hyper-realistic simulations, endless streamable content—there’s something for everybody. You don’t ever have to leave your home.For Asher Reinhart, nothing compares to Ignis: Live, a reality show that pushes human beings to their very extremes. As a volunteer director, he closely monitors the lives of those living on an Interstellar Ark who falsely believe they’re the last of humanity out searching for a new Earth.Mission is the show’s brightest young star. Born in hiding, her intelligence and near-perfect genetics have allowed her to rise up the ranks faster than any before her. But now that it’s her turn to provide for the Ark, everything changes …With Mission’s life placed in danger in order to boost ratings, Asher must choose between protecting the show he’s dedicated his life to, or the woman who has been the focus of his attention since the day he was born.Vicarious (adjective): Experienced in the imagination through the feelings or actions of another person.

Full Description

Release

03-01-22

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Science Fiction

Release

03-01-22

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Science Fiction

Description

Ready Player One meets The Truman Show with a dash of The 100 in this science fiction story about the power of human connection, from USA Today bestselling and Nebula Award–nominated author Rhett C. Bruno. It’s perfect for fans of Hugh Howey, Kim Stanley Robinson, and Kass Morgan.

The real world is only where you breathe …

In High Earth, entertainment is everything. Virtual worlds, hyper-realistic simulations, endless streamable content—there’s something for everybody. You don’t ever have to leave your home.

For Asher Reinhart, nothing compares to Ignis: Live, a reality show that pushes human beings to their very extremes. As a volunteer director, he closely monitors the lives of those living on an Interstellar Ark who falsely believe they’re the last of humanity out searching for a new Earth.

Mission is the show’s brightest young star. Born in hiding, her intelligence and near-perfect genetics have allowed her to rise up the ranks faster than any before her. But now that it’s her turn to provide for the Ark, everything changes …

With Mission’s life placed in danger in order to boost ratings, Asher must choose between protecting the show he’s dedicated his life to, or the woman who has been the focus of his attention since the day he was born.

Vicarious (adjective): Experienced in the imagination through the feelings or actions of another person.

Praise

“A riveting take on man’s inhumanity to man. Vicarious is 2001: A Space Odyssey meets The Truman Show.” Scott Sigler, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Earthcore

“Haunting and unique; the best of what science fiction can and should be.” Katherine McNamara, actress

“This perceptive take on the reality-TV-in-the-future premise deserves boffo ratings.” Kirkus Reviews

“A truly unique sci-fi experience…Mission’s story is both heartbreaking and triumphant, and the growth Asher shows from start to finish blew me away.” Nicholas Sansbury Smith, New York Times bestselling author of Hell Divers

“A deep and a stunningly emotive story wrapped in a truly unique setting.” Jasper T. Scott, USA Today bestselling author of Dark Space

Rhett C. Bruno

Author Biography

Rhett C. Bruno is the USA Today and Washington Post bestselling and Nebula Award–nominated author of the Circuit Saga, the Children of Titan series, the Buried Goddess Saga, Vicarious, and The Roach, among other works. He is currently a full-time author and publisher living in Delaware with his wife and daughter.