The Swift and the Harrier

By Minette Walters

Read by Emma Gregory

As low as $3.89 Regular Price $5.99
Play Sample

Runtime

14h 53m

Release

07-12-22

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Historical

Runtime

14h 53m

Release

07-12-22

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Historical

Overview

A Barnes & Noble Pick of the Week's Favorite Indie eBooks
A Library Journal Editor’s Pick of Historical Fiction
Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
A Hasty Book Reviews Pick of the Week
See All +

A sweeping historical adventure set during one of the most turbulent periods of British history—featuring a heroine you’ll never forget ...

Dorset, 1642.

When bloody civil war breaks out between the king and Parliament, families and communities across England are riven by different allegiances.

A rare few choose neutrality.

One such is Jayne Swift, a Dorset physician from a Royalist family, who offers her services to both sides in the conflict. Through her dedication to treating the sick and wounded, regardless of belief, Jayne becomes a witness to the brutality of war and the devastation it wreaks.

Yet her recurring companion at every event is a man she should despise because he embraces civil war as the means to an end. She knows him as William Harrier, but is ignorant about every other aspect of his life. His past is a mystery and his future uncertain.

The Swift and the Harrier is a sweeping tale of adventure and loss, sacrifice and love, with a unique and unforgettable heroine at its heart.

Editorial Reviews

“Gripping and fascinating.” Elizabeth Buchan, New York Times bestselling author

“I loved every moment of this brilliantly evocative saga of struggle, love, and danger set against the horrors of civil war.” S. W. Perry, bestselling author of the Jackdaw Mysteries

“A truly, utterly gripping English Civil War love story that is as fleet and majestic as the birds of the title. This is Minette Walters at her brilliant best.” Paul Blezard, LoveReading

“This well-researched, atmospheric tale is as gripping as any of her thrillers.” Joanne Finney, Good Housekeeping

“The author best known for her crime fiction sets this enthralling, tender love story against the brutal background of the English Civil War.” The i

“Minette Walters, a stalwart of crime fiction, is excellent on the horrors of civil war in Dorset, and Swift is a memorable and spirited…heroine.” Antonia Senior, The Times

“This is historical fiction at its finest…Jayne is a fantastic character, a woman very much in a man’s world, living and working to bring succor to those in need.” Belfast Telegraph

“Walters draws wonderfully on her crime-writing skills…This well-researched novel of seventeenth-century warfare shows the perils and rewards of sticking to one’s principles.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Endearing characters spark life into centuries-old history in Walters’s latest, which will appeal to fans of Philippa Gregory, Margaret George, and Sharon Kay Penman.” Library Journal (starred review)

See All +
Minette Walters

Author Biography

Minette Walters is one of the world’s best-selling crime writers and has sold over twenty-five million copies of her books worldwide. She has won the CWA John Creasey Award, the Edgar Allan Poe Award, and two CWA Gold Daggers. The Swift and the Harrier is her third historical novel. She lives in Dorset with her husband.

Emma Gregory

Narrator Biography

Emma Gregory has enjoyed an extensive and varied career. Some of her many radio titles include The Diary Of Samuel Pepys, Don Quixote (with Paul Schofield), The Bell, In the Native State (with Peggy Ashcroft), Dombey and Son, The Quatermass Memoirs (with Andrew Keir), and Great Expectations. She has also recorded Shakespeare on CD for Riverrun Productions and the soundtrack of The Beggars Opera for the Royal Shakespeare Company. She works regularly as a voice-over artist for various companies, including the History and Biography channels.