The Absinthe Earl

By Sharon Lynn Fisher

Read by Alison McKenna and Alan Smyth

As low as $3.99 Regular Price $4.99

Miss Ada Quicksilver meets a handsome and intriguing Irishman who takes absinthe regularly to relieve a mysterious affliction. She soon discovers that “Mr. Donoghue” is, in fact, a lord in two worlds and can no longer suppress his shadow self. Little does either of them realize that their blossoming friendship—and slowly kindling passion—will lead to discoveries that will change Ireland forever.

Full Description
Play Sample

Runtime

12h 14m

Release

10-15-19

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

Runtime

12h 14m

Release

10-15-19

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

Description

Miss Ada Quicksilver, a student of London’s Lovelace Academy for Promising Young Women, is spending her holiday in Ireland to pursue her anthropological study of fairies. She visits Dublin’s absinthe bars to investigate a supposed association between the bittersweet spirit and fairy sightings.

One night a handsome Irishman approaches her, introducing himself as Edward Donoghue. Edward takes absinthe to relieve his sleepwalking, and she is eager to hear whether he has experience with fairies. Instead, she discovers that he’s the earl of Meath, and that he will soon visit a mysterious ruin at Newgrange on the orders of his cousin, the beautiful, half-mad Queen Isolde. On learning about Ada’s area of study, he invites her to accompany him.

Ada is torn between a sensible fear of becoming entangled with the clearly troubled gentleman and her compelling desire to ease his suffering. Finally she accepts his invitation, and they arrive in time for the winter solstice. That night, the secret of Edward’s affliction is revealed: he is, in fact, a lord in two worlds and can no longer suppress his shadow self.

Little does either of them realize that their blossoming friendship—and slowly kindling passion—will lead to discoveries that wrench open a door sealed for centuries, throwing them into a war that will change Ireland forever.

Praise

“Wonderfully written and wonderfully romantic, Sharon Lynn Fisher’s The Absinthe Earl sweeps readers into a powerfully reimagined Victorian Ireland where a strong queen rules and the world of Faery is just a heartbeat away. Young English scholar Ada Quicksilver has come to Ireland to study faery lore. She doesn’t expect to meet a haunted earl who drinks absinthe so that faeries won’t disturb his dreams, nor to find that she has faery ancestry herself. Least of all does she expect to find herself in the middle of a war between her world and an ancient evil that wants to destroy everything she knows—and the man she has come to love.” Mary Jo Putney, New York Times bestselling author

“Narrators Alison McKenna and Alan Smyth…both provide an entertaining performance with their alternating narrations, giving the listener a feel for the protagonists’ personalities…McKenna’s practiced, careful style is juxtaposed with Smyth’s more energetic flair, making for an enjoyable listen.” AudioFile

“This delightful book is a sweeping fantasy tale of Celtic mythology wrapped in an alternate history context…I suggest reading this captivating novel in a verdant woodland, sitting in the shade against a stout tree trunk and perhaps sipping a bit of absinthe. Enjoy as I did.” Historical Novel Society

“Anyone who loves a good supernatural story, along with a hefty dose of Irish legend and romance, will adore this new series.” Booklist

“[A] complex, creative adventure…Fans of Gail Carriger and Leanna Renee Hieber will savor this promising series opener.” Publishers Weekly

“Fairies, absinthe, and ancient secrets provide an adventurous backdrop for romance in this historical-fantasy romance…The environment is lush and imaginative, with everyone appearing to hide their own seductive, dark secrets. It’s a world that comes alive with mysterious, foggy moors, dangerous peat bogs, and gorgeous green hills. Ada is an admirably independent heroine, taking her research quite seriously despite the handsome distraction of Edward…This is an ambitious series opener…Imaginative, original, and worth a try.” Kirkus Reviews

“Charming and filled with intriguing characters, dangerous enemies, and hidden desires, The Absinthe Earl hooked me from the start.” Maria V. Snyder, New York Times bestselling author of Poison Study

“Magical and brilliant! The Absinthe Earl is a fast-paced romp that expertly weaves two different worlds into an adventure not to be missed. Sharon Lynn Fisher crafts clever dialogue and creates characters to fall in love with.” Lorraine Heath, bestselling author of the Scoundrels of St. James series

“Danger, intrigue, action, and passion—The Absinthe Earl has it all! This bold blend of historical romance, legend, and fantasy takes readers on a thrilling ride through an alternate Ireland that weaves folklore right into the world we know. Original and captivating!” Amanda Bouchet, USA Today bestselling author of the Kingmaker Chronicles

“This is quite a wonderfully dizzying mashup of a historical setting, time travel of a sorts, and the fae. If you’re a reader drawn to historical fantasy and magical Regencies, definitely give this series a try.” Book Riot, 20 Must-Read Fantasy Romance Books

See All +
Sharon Lynn Fisher

Author Biography

Sharon Lynn Fisher is the author of sci-fi romance, erotic fairy tales, and, most recently, the historical fantasy trilogy the Faery Rehistory, including The Absinthe Earl and The Raven Lady. The Warrior Poet is the final novel in the series. Sharon lives on an acreage outside Seattle with her husband and daughters, two goats, an orange cat and orange mare, and a fluctuating number of poultry. When she’s not writing, you’ll mostly find her in the woods looking for fairies.

Alison McKenna

Narrator Biography

Alison McKenna is an actress and producer from the United Kingdom. In addition to film, television, and stage acting, she has narrated the audiobooks Paula Spencer by Roddy Doyle and The Gathering by Anne Enright.

Alan Smyth

Narrator Biography

Alan Smyth, an audiobook narrator, has worked as a professional actor for more than fifteen years. He has toured extensively in Ireland and the United States and has worked with such companies as the BBC, Paramount Pictures, and Showtime Productions.